Start Planning
District of Columbia

District of Columbia Holidays 2018

This page contains a calendar of all 2018 District of Columbia holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year's Day
15 Jan Mon Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday
19 Feb Mon President's Day
16 Apr Mon DC Emancipation Day
28 May Mon Memorial Day
4 Jul Wed Independence Day
3 Sep Mon Labor Day
8 Oct Mon Columbus Day
11 Nov Sun Veterans Day
12 Nov Mon Veterans Day Holiday
22 Nov Thu Thanksgiving Day
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

D.C. will have as many as eight extended weekends in 2018, including one created by a DC-only public holiday: DC Emancipation Day on April 16th. DC Emancipation Day marks the day in 1862 when President Abraham Lincoln signed the Compensated Emancipation Act, which freed DC’s slaves and foreshadowed the Emancipation Proclamation that came nine months later.