Start Planning
Independence Day

Independence Day 2018 and 2019

Independence Day is a federal holiday in the United States on 4 July to celebrate the date the original 13 colonies declared independence from Great Britain. In 2018, Independence Day falls on a Wednesday.

20184 JulWedIndependence DayNational
20194 JulThuIndependence DayNational

This holiday is commonly called the Fourth of July in casual conversation, but Independence Day is its official name. It is common for most cities and towns in the United States to have fireworks displays on Independence Day. Although fireworks are illegal in many states, most communities tolerate private fireworks displays on this day. Parades, fairs, carnivals, concerts, and ceremonies also take place during this holiday.

Families frequently have reunions featuring barbecues and small fireworks displays. Families also enjoy playing sports on this public holiday like volleyball, softball, and horseshoes. Many people display flags on their lawns to honor the nation.

The Fourth of July is the United States’ official birthday, so other countries do not observe it although many countries have similar holidays such as France’s Bastille Day or Mexico’s Grito de Dolores’ celebration.

Independence Day is the second of three summer federal holidays. It comes in the middle of summer when the United States is sweltering. The Fourth of July is a beloved patriotic holiday when many people take vacations to the mountains, seashore, and national parks for fishing, camping, and water sports.

Since Independence Day is a public holiday, all United States federal, state, and local government buildings are closed for business. Most factories and other companies are closed and their employees typically receive the day off with pay.

Some service-related companies remain open during the holiday, including restaurants, stores, department stores, and vehicle repair shops. Recreational businesses and tourist attractions that cater to people with leisure time usually enjoy brisk business.